Driving While Intoxicated-Avoid It!
Driving While Intoxicated has grave consequences. Whether there is an accident or not, being convicted of DWI will turn into a very expensive proposition. Each year, more states, especially New York, are increasing the penalties for DWI offenses. At a minimum, if you are convicted of DWI in New York, you will pay a fine of $500 as well as a Court surcharge. Your license will be revoked for 6 months and the Department of Motor Vehicles will charge you a civil penalty of $750, to be paid over the next 3 years. If you choose to get a conditional license prior to the expiration of your 6 month revocation, there will be other DMV costs for processing your request and participating in the Drinking Driver Program. Finally, your insurance rates are likely to increase, due to a re-evaluation of your risk status. The best solution is never to drink and drive. In the alternative, you may purchase an alcohol sensor device that will measure your blood alcohol content prior to getting behind the wheel.